robots identify victims within re-created disaster scenarios, varying in complexity from line-following on a flat surface to negotiating paths through obstacles on uneven terrain

RoboCupJunior General Rules

  • Team Size

    Since RoboCupJunior embraces teamwork and collaboration among team members, a team should have more than one member to form a RoboCupJunior team to participate in the International event.

    A team member(s) and/or robot(s) cannot be shared between teams.

    Maximum team size is 4 members for Rescue league for RoboCupJunior Montreal, 2018.

  • Team Member

    Minimum age is 12 RoboCupJunior Montreal, 2018. From RCJ 2018, there will be no division between the primary and secondary age categories at the international events. For RCJ 2018:
    • Teams with all student members age 12 to 19 year old can participate in the junior category.
    Age is counted as of July 1 for the international RCJ event each year.

    The plan is to bring the minimum age to the international events to 14 year-old by 2019.
    2017 (Japan) - 11 year-old
    2018 (Canada) - 12 year-old
    2019 (Australia) - 13 year-old
    2020 (TBD) - 14 year-old This rule applies to the international events ONLY.

    Every team member need to carry out a technical role for the team (robot design and construction, sensors and actuators, programming, etc.), this should be identified at the registration. The actual categories will be announced before the registration opens. In addition, each member is expected to explain his/her technical role and should be able to answer any questions at the technical judging.

  • Robot Communication

    Robots are not allowed to use any kind of communication during game play unless the communication between two robots is via bluetooth class 2 or class 3 (range shorter than 20 meters) or via ZigBee. Teams are responsible for their communication. The availability of frequencies cannot be guaranteed.

    updated: 26-february-2018/eguchi

    2018 Rules

    2017 Rules

    2016 Rules

    2015 Rules

    2014 Rules

    2013 Rules

    2012 Rules

    2011 Rules
    Rules from 2010 and before